

Our fortieth season of prominent speaker programs

December 2024

In This Issue

2024-2025 Officers 2024-2025 Directors 2024-2025 Speakers

Pillsbury Biography

2024-2025 Standing Committees

> 2024-2025 New Directors

Speaker Program

Past Presidents

OFFICERS

President Francis Rooney

President-Elect John C. Smarge

Vice President Ronald N. Riner, M.D.

Past President Elizabeth K. Wessel

Secretary Janet P. Rathbun

Treasurer Pauline T. Eide

DIRECTORS

Jamie B. Andersen James N. Barton David R. Casper Ronald B. Ciesla Arthur D. Collins, Jr. Thomas Everist Linda C. Flewelling Leslie M. Frécon



Senior Fellow, Heritage Foundation, China Michael Pillsbury Friday, December 6, 2024 Hilton Naples

Michael Pillsbury holds a B.A. in History from Stanford and an M.A. and Ph.D. from Columbia, where he studied under influential mentors

like Zbigniew Brzezinski. Early in his career, he served as Assistant Political Affairs Officer at the United Nations and a doctoral fellow in Taiwan. He became an analyst at RAND (1973-1977) and a research fellow at Harvard's Center for Science and International Affairs.

During the Reagan administration, Pillsbury, as Assistant Under Secretary of Defense for Policy Planning, helped implement the Reagan Doctrine, advocating for U.S.-China military ties—an approach praised by Reagan, Kissinger, and Schlesinger and later adopted by both the Carter and Reagan administrations. He also supported legislative work for the U.S. Institute of Peace and the National Endowment for Democracy.

Pillsbury held various roles from 1978-1991 in the U.S. Senate, contributing to policy shaping on Asian affairs and Afghan resistance. He served as Special Assistant for Asian Affairs under President George H. W. Bush, reporting to Andrew Marshall. Harvard's JFK School documented Pillsbury's covert action planning for arming Afghan forces with Stinger missiles, revealing his role in the secret Planning and Coordination Group.

From 1997-2007, Pillsbury published influential works on China's military strategies, some of which informed Department of Defense reports to Congress. He has held multiple advisory and consulting roles with the Department of Defense, including:

• Consultant, Department of Defense (2004-present)

Mark J. Gerencser Bradley L. Heiges James P. Johannsen Roy Kapani John J. Lawson Richard H. Lenny Kenneth R. Reeves Jeanne L. Seewald Adria D. Starkey Jay B. Stephens Deborah A. Stewart William H. Strong Inge G. Thulin Gary L. Tice Robert S. Troth Joanne S. Wyss

- Senior Research Advisor, US-China Economic and Security Review Commission (2003-2004)
- Special Assistant to Director of Net Assessment, Department of Defense (1992-1993)
- Assistant Under Secretary for Policy Planning, Department of Defense (1984-1986)
- Acting Director, Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, Department of State (1981)

GUEST TICKET REQUEST

for December 6, 2024

Senior Fellow Michael Pillsbury

To place a request for one guest ticket, please submit to:

forumclub@theforumclub.org

If guest tickets are available, requests are processed in order of receipt and must be received by

November 29, 2024

They will be mailed by that date, and you will be billed for \$75, or notified if there is no

space.

Tickets are non-exchangeable and non-refundable.

SUBMITTING REGRETS

for December 6, 2024

Senior Fellow, Michael Pillsbury

If you cannot attend and no one will use your ticket, please email your regret to

forumclub@theforumclub.org.

You may regret until 5:00 p.m., Friday, November 29, 2024, to receive a \$40 refund at the end of the season. Your regret will help us to have an accurate count for attendance.

STUDENT GUESTS - NOVEMBER 15, 2024



Glenn Youngkin Governor of Virginia

Golden Gate High School

Uriel Sanchez Aliviah Santos Patrick Sims Simone Valencia

Student Sponsor Doug Gray



Gulf Coast High School Julianna Wang, Hyrgena Kiri Kayleigh Green

Susan Jones

Isabella Lala

2024-2025 STANDING COMMITTEES

The Board of Directors welcomes your comments and concerns. Please address them in writing to the appropriate committee chairs.

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Jeanne Seewald

HOSPITALITY Deborah Stewart

MEMBERSHIP Ronald Riner PROGRAM

John Smarge

STUDENT GUEST Jamie Andersen

NEW DIRECTORS ELECTED

Please welcome the newly elected class of 2024-2025

David R. Casper Ronald B. Ciesla Thomas Everist Leslie M. Frecon Mark J. Gerencser Bradley L. Heiges Jay B. Stephens Deborah A. Stewart Joanne S. Wyss

2024-2025 SPEAKER PROGRAM

GOVERNOR GLENN YOUNGKIN

GENERAL BRYAN FENTON

November 15, 2024 Governor, Virginia

MICHAEL PILLSBURY

December 6, 2024 Senior Fellow, Heritage Foundation, China

J.B. MILLIKEN January 17, 2025 Chancellor of The University of Texas

RICHARD N. BARTON

January 31, 2025 Cofounder and CEO, Zillow Group Founder, Expedia

MARIA SNEGOVAYA, Ph.D. February 7, 2025 Senior Fellow, Europe, Russia and Eurasia Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) February 21, 2025 Cmdr., U.S. Special Ops. Command

GIANRICO FARRUGIA, M.D. March 7, 2025 President & CEO Mayo Clinic

GENERAL TIMOTHY RAY

March 18, 2025 USAF Retired, Commander, Global Strike Command

CAROL TOMÉ

March 28, 2025 CEO, UPS

JAMES D. FARLEY

April 10, 2025 President & CEO, Ford Motor Company

MISSION STATEMENT

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County.
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students

PAST PRESIDENTS

Elizabeth K. Wessel 2023-2024

Edward M. Liddy 2022-2023

Susan S. Jones 2021-2022

Clark T. Randt, Jr. 2020-2021

Joseph G. Fogg, III 2019-2020

Verne G. Istock 2018-2019

Richard S. Bodman 2017-2018

Melvin C. Short Jr. 2016-2017

Shelly Church 2015-2016

Thomas B. Wheeler

Wade F. Keller 2009-2010

Alan M. Horton 2008-2009

Malcolm B. Chancey Jr. 2007-2008

W. Wallace Abbott* 2006-2007

Carl J. Kuehner 2005-2006

Richard I. Wilson* 2004-2005

William E. Hoglund* 2003-2004

L. Lindsey Halstead* 2002-2003

Edwin J. Putzell Jr.* 2001-2002

Linda C. Flewelling

Donald J. York* 1995

John M. Passidomo* 1994

William C. Sinclair* 1993

> Joe B. Cox 1992

John T. Duffner* 1991

Alan R. Korest* 1990

> Tom Shea* 1989

Corbin A. Wyant* 1988

Robert D. Stakich* 1987

Brenda C. Wilson

2014-2015

William F. Allyn 2013-2014

Thomas A. Bringardner 2012-2013

David A. Rismiller* 2011-2012

> Ulla Norris 2010-2011

2000-2001

Thomas E. Ingram 1999-2000

Carol E. Girardin 1998-1999

R. James Harvey* 1997-1998

Raymond Mueller* 1996-1997

INQUIRIES

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. 3200 Bailey Lane, Suite 199, Naples, FL 34105 (239) 436-3574 forumclub@TheForumClub.org www.TheForumClub.org

Forum Club of Southwest Florida | 3200 Bailey Lane Suite 199 | Naples, FL 34105 US

Unsubscribe | Update Profile | Constant Contact Data Notice



Try email marketing for free today!

1986

Leonard F. Llewellyn* 1985

William S. Gentry* Founder

*deceased

rounder