

November 2023

In This Issue

2023-2024 Officers

2023-2024 Directors

2023-2024 Speakers

Raymond Biography

Speaker Selection

2023 Gentry Awards

Speaker Program

Past Presidents

OFFICERS

President Elizabeth K. Wessel

President-ElectFrancis Rooney

Vice President John C. Smarge

Past President Edward M. Liddy

SecretaryWilliam D. Swartz,
D.V.M.

Treasurer Pauline T. Eide

DIRECTORS

Jamie B. Andersen James N. Barton Todd L. Bradley Ronald B. Ciesla Arthur D. Collins Sandra M. Edwards Linda C. Flewelling J. Douglas Gray



General John W. Raymond Friday, November 17, 2023 Hilton Naples

General John W. "Jay"
Raymond is the Chief of
Space Operations, United
States Space Force. As Chief,
he serves as the senior
uniformed Space Force
officer responsible for the
organization, training and
equipping of all space forces
serving in the United States
and overseas.

General Raymond was commissioned through the ROTC program at Clemson University in 1984. He has commanded at squadron, group, wing, numbered air

force, Major Command and Combatant Command levels. Notable staff assignments include serving in the Office of Force Transformation, Office of the Secretary of Defense; the Director of Plans, Programs and Analyses at Air Force Space Command; the Director of Plans and Policy (J5), U.S. Strategic Command; and the Deputy Chief of Staff for Operations, Headquarters U.S. Air Force. Gen. Raymond deployed to Southwest Asia as Director of Space Forces in support of operations Enduring Freedom and Iraqi Freedom. Prior to leading establishment of the U.S. Space Force and serving as the first Chief of Space Operations, Gen. Raymond led the re-establishment of U.S. Space Command as the eleventh U.S. combatant command.

Guest Ticket Request for November 17, 2023 General John W. Raymond

To place a request for one guest ticket, please submit to:

forumclub@theforumclub.org

If guest tickets are available, requests are processed in order of receipt and must be received by

November 10, 2023

They will be mailed by that date, and you will be billed for \$90, or notified if there is no space.

Tickets are non-exchangeable and non-refundable.

James P. Johannsen Rov Kapani John J. Lawson Richard H. Lenny James R. Lozelle Janet P. Rathbun Kenneth R. Reeves Steven L. Sanderson Jeanne L. Seewald Cherry W. Smith Adria D. Starkey Jay B. Stephens William H. Strong Inge G. Thulin Gary L. Tice Robert S. Troth

FORUM CLUB SPEAKER SELECTION

The Program Committee's goal is to bring the best speakers to the Forum Club. The criteria for the speaker selection requires that each speaker have a reputation as an outstanding well-respected leader and role model in his/her area of expertise.

To offer program variety, speakers are selected from the government, corporate, financial, international, media, health care, technology, and other fields.

This year's Program Committee, chaired by President-Elect Francis Rooney, has begun its efforts to secure speakers for next season.

While the Forum Club provides for transportation and hotel expenses, it does not offer its speakers honoraria. The Club encourages all members to assist in securing potential speakers with whom they have contact. If you have a suggestion of a potential speaker, please contact the Forum Club office or Program Committee Chair, Francis Rooney.

Gentry Awards

April 14, 2023

In 1988, Bill Gentry initiated a new program for the Club by inviting students from each area high school to the luncheon meetings as guests of a sponsoring club member. In 1992, the Board of Directors established the William S. Gentry Student Scholarship Award that is presented each year to one senior from each participating Collier County high school in Bill's memory. The criteria includes academic excellence and demonstrated community civic responsibility of the chosen students. Below are the students that received the 2023 Gentry Scholarship Award.

Barron Collier - Darshan Dadlani Community School of Naples - Alexandria Lagergren **Everglades City School - James Collins** First Baptist Academy - Trevor Wilson Golden Gate High School - Caleb Archelus Gulf Coast High School - Stenley Jean-Charles Immokalee High School - Delfino Jimenez-Vasquez Lely High School - Alejandra Ramos Lorenzo Walker Technical School - Nathalie Rodriguez Gastell Marco Island Academy - Daniel Donaldson Mason Classical Academy - Alyson Noller Naples High School - Jack Tucker PACE - Ashyah Campbell Palmetto Ridge High School - Giovanni Gonzalez-Venegas St. John Neumann - Ben Lysiak Seacrest Country Day School - Isabelle Soderlund Village School - Christian Rinaldi



2023-2024 SPEAKER PROGRAM

GENERAL JOHN W. RAYMOND

November 17, 2023

U.S. Space Force

JESSICA BUCHANAN

December 8, 2023

NGO worker rescued by Seal Team 6

CHRIS KEMPCZINSKI

January 12, 2023

President & CEO, McDonald's Corporation

MICHAEL SCHWIMER

January 26, 2024

President & CEO, Big League Advantage

WILLIAM BARR

February 9, 2024

Former United States Attorney General

GENERAL KEITH B. ALEXANDER

February 23, 2024

Director NSA, Cmdr. U.S. Cyber Command

DAVID RUBENSTEIN

March 8, 2024

Co-Founder & Co-Chairman, The Carlyle Group

DAVID BEASLEY

March 22, 2024

Executive Director, United Nations World Food Programme

REINHOLD SCHMIEDING

April 5, 2024

Founder & CEO, Arthrex

BEN SASSE

April 12, 2024

President, University of Florida & Former Senator, Nebraska

MISSION STATEMENT

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards

- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County.
 - Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students

PAST PRESIDENTS

Edward M. Liddy
2022-2023

Susan S. Jones 2021-2022

Clark T. Randt, Jr. 2020-2021

Joseph G. Fogg, III 2019-2020

Verne G. Istock 2018-2019

Richard S. Bodman 2017-2018

Melvin C. Short Jr. 2016-2017

Shelly Church 2015-2016

Thomas B. Wheeler 2014-2015

William F. Allyn 2013-2014

Thomas A. Bringardner 2012-2013

David A. Rismiller* 2011-2012

> Ulla Norris 2010-2011

Wade F. Keller 2009-2010

Alan M. Horton 2008-2009

Malcolm B. Chancey Jr. 2007-2008

W. Wallace Abbott* 2006-2007

Carl J. Kuehner 2005-2006

Richard I. Wilson* 2004-2005

William E. Hoglund* 2003-2004

L. Lindsey Halstead* 2002-2003

Edward J. Putzell Jr.* 2001-2002

Linda C. Flewelling 2000-2001

Thomas E. Ingram

Carol E. Girardin 1998-1999

R. James Harvey* 1997-1998

Raymond Mueller*

Donald J. York*

John M. Passidomo 1994

William C. Sinclair*
1993

Joe B. Cox 1992

John T. Duffner*

Alan R. Korest*

Tom Shea*

Corbin A. Wyant

Robert D. Stakich* 1987

Brenda C. Wilson 1986

Leonard F. Llewellyn* 1985

William S. Gentry* Founder

*deceased

INQUIRIES

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. 3200 Bailey Lane, Suite 199, Naples, FL 34105 (239) 436-3475 forumclub@TheForumClub.org www.TheForumClub.org

<u>Update Profile</u> |Constant Contact Data Notice Sent byforumclub@theforumclub.orgpowered by

